Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeMotorsportsSRX Pevely: Tony Stewart takes another dirt track victory

SRX Pevely: Tony Stewart takes another dirt track victory

Tony Stewart wins the first dirt track race of the 2022 SRX season and has won every Superstar Racing Experience dirt race to date

The I-55 Raceway in Pevely in the US state of Missouri was the venue for the penultimate race of the 2022 Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) season on Saturday evening. And on the dirt track located near St. Louis, the action was on.

The banking on I-55 Raceway is comparatively steep at 19 degrees considering a lap is just 0.333 miles (536 metres) long. In both the heats and the main race, there were numerous yellow phases due to collisions.

After 70 laps under race pace in the main race, Tony Stewart had his second win of the season (after South Boston) in the bag. It was a clear performance by “Smoke”. Starting from pole, he never left any doubt as to who was the strongest driver that night. This was especially true as the track conditions became increasingly difficult as the distance went on, as the surface became more and more slippery.

Having won both dirt track races (Knoxville and Eldora at the time) in the inaugural 2021 SRX season, Stewart remains undefeated after three SRX races on loose surfaces. The final race of the 2022 season will also take place on a dirt track next weekend.

In Pevely, after seven caution periods, second place went to Marco Andretti for the third time in a row. The podium was completed by celebrity guest starter Ken Schrader. It was the SRX debut for the 67-year-old former NASCAR warhorse, who hails from nearby.

Meanwhile, former IndyCar warhorse Paul Tracy was one of the many drivers who either spun solo or were involved in collisions – or both. In one of his spins, Tracy first caused Matt Kenseth to lose all chances. Later in the race, Tracy was the innocent party in a spin by Tony Kanaan.

Heat races: Ken Schrader and Tony Stewart in front

Before the main feature race, the two heat races were won by SRX debutant Ken Schrader and defending SRX champion Tony Stewart.

Paul Tracy clashed with Tony Kanaan in the heats and then with Ryan Newman a little later. Unimpressed by this, Schrader took a commanding Heat 1 victory ahead of Marco Andretti and Tony Stewart. Stewart took the Heat 2 win in a four-way battle against Kanaan, Ernie Francis Jr. and Matt Kenseth.

The 2022 SRX season finale will take place next Saturday night at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio. This is a comparatively flat dirt track with a length of 0.375 miles.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments