Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeChampions LeagueThese 32 teams are qualified for the Champions League

These 32 teams are qualified for the Champions League

Who will Borussia Dortmund, FC Bayern, RB Leipzig and Union Berlin have the pleasure of playing in the new Champions League season? Now all 32 participants have been determined.

Union Berlin secured the fourth Champions League ticket the Bundesliga is entitled to for the 2023/24 season on matchday 34 – celebrating its debut in the most important European Cup competition. Borussia Dortmund, FC Bayern and RB Leipzig had already been certain that they would once again be allowed to participate in the lucrative group stage.

Because the major Champions League reform will take effect from 2024, 32 teams will be in the top flight for the last time. The top leagues Premier League, La Liga, Serie A and Bundesliga will each provide four clubs, with two each going to France and Portugal. In addition, the champions in the Netherlands, Austria, Scotland and Serbia will be rewarded with a place in the group stage.

Five Champions League teams from Spain

In addition, the reigning Champions and Europa League winners will be allowed to participate and even start in the first pot in the draw – just like the champions of the top nations. Because ManCity won the handle pot for the first time and would have qualified for the top flight as champions anyway, the eleventh-best association in the UEFA rankings benefited – this year Ukraine, where Shakhtar Donetsk were champions.

On the other hand, the Europa League triumph of Sevilla FC, who have fallen behind in their domestic league, means that La Liga will be able to compete with five teams – just as the Bundesliga did last year thanks to Eintracht Frankfurt. Galatasaray, Youngs Boys Bern and Sporting Braga booked their tickets via the play-offs. On Wednesday, PSV Eindhoven, FC Copenhagen and, for the first time, Royal Antwerp also managed to do so.

These 32 teams will be in the Champions League in 2023/24:

Germany: Borussia Dortmund, FC Bayern, RB Leipzig, Union Berlin

England: Manchester City, Arsenal, Manchester United, Newcastle

Spain: FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Real Sociedad, FC Sevilla

Italy: SSC Napoli, Lazio Roma, Inter Milan, AC Milan

Portugal: Benfica Lisbon, FC Porto, Sporting Braga

France: Paris St. Germain, RC Lens

Netherlands: Feyenoord, PSV Eindhoven

Austria: RB Salzburg

Scotland: Celtic Glasgow

Serbia: Red Star Belgrade

Ukraine: Shakhtar Donetsk

Switzerland: Young Boys Bern

Turkey: Galatasaray

Belgium: Royal Antwerp

Denmark: FC Copenhagen



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments