Monday, July 22, 2024
HomePremier LeaguePFA Awards: Saka prevents Haaland's "double".

PFA Awards: Saka prevents Haaland’s “double”.

The Professional Footballers’ Association of England has named Erling Haaland Player of the Year for his treble-winning season with Manchester City. Another award snatched away from him was Bukayo Saka.

I guess there could only be one, only him, Erling Haaland. 52 competitive goals in a Manchester City shirt, an immense part in the Skyblues winning the treble – including the first Champions League title in the club’s history. Or even 36 league goals in one season on the way to the championship – Premier League record.

It is therefore quite understandable that the PFA, the association of English professional footballers, chose the Norwegian as player of the year. In his very first season on the island, the 23-year-old has bagged the prestigious award, which was presented to him on Tuesday evening.

Haaland not like CR7 and Bale

The left-footer beat teammates Kevin De Bruyne and John Stones, as well as former Tottenham striker Harry Kane, who has left for Munich, and Arsenal’s Martin Ödegaard and Bukayo Saka.

Saka, however, deprived Haaland of the “double” because the 21-year-old Englishman was named the best young professional of the past season – Haaland would also still have been eligible for this and had been nominated. Previously, only Andy Gray (Aston Villa, 1976/77), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, 2006/07) and Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur, 2012/13) have been named best young player and best player of the season in the same season.

Two runners-up honoured

In addition to Haaland, De Bruyne and Stones from the English champions, Ruben Dias and Rodri also made it into the PFA Eleven of the Year. Alongside Kane, Ödegaard and Saka, Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsdale and William Saliba and Newcastle United right-back Kieran Trippier also made the cut.

In the women’s competition, two internationals from runners-up England were crowned. Rachel Daly (Aston Villa) is the player of the year, Lauren James (Chelsea) the best young player.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments