Monday, December 4, 2023
HomeLa LigaYashin trophy: Will ter Stegen's 29 white waistcoats be enough?

Yashin trophy: Will ter Stegen’s 29 white waistcoats be enough?

The “Ballon d’Or” also honours the best goalkeeper of the 2022/23 season. In one category, the nominated Marc-André ter Stegen (31) clearly outshone his competitors.

Will the current number one of the German national team be crowned with the Yashin Trophy for the first time this year? Marc-André ter Stegen is at least one of the ten candidates who will decide among themselves the choice for the best goalkeeper of the 2022/23 season.

The regular FC Barcelona keeper has so far finished second in the award, which was launched in 2019 – in the first edition, which was won by Liverpool’s Champions League winner Alisson four years ago.

In subsequent years, European champion Gianluigi Donnarumma (2021, PSG and Italy) and Champions League winner Thibaut Courtois (2022, Real Madrid and Belgium) triumphed. This year, ter Stegen can once again raise his hopes. Also because the reigning Spanish champions clearly outperform the competition in one category: In 56 competitive games, the former Gladbach man had kept his box clean 29 times (!) and only had to swallow 49 goals conceded.

The top favourite for the title is probably a Brazilian, as Ederson (51 games/45 goals conceded/19 white waistcoats) was instrumental in Manchester City winning the treble of national championship, national cup competition and Champions League.

European League winner and World Cup winner

The nominees also include Sevilla’s Europa League winner Bono (47/66/14), who now plays for Al-Hilal, Real regular keeper Thibaut Courtois (57/56/20), who is injured at the cruciate ligament, Croatian Dominik Livakovic (63/61/18), Milan keeper Mike Maignan (33/27/14), World Cup winner Emiliano Martinez (50/47/22), Champions League finalist André Onana (45/41/19), Arsenal keeper Aaron Ramsdale (41/46/15) and Lens goalkeeper Brice Samba (38/28/16).

The judging period is August 2022 to July 2023 to cover the full 2022/23 season – including the Winter World Cup in Qatar. Voting journalists will award three goalkeepers a score of five, three or one. The keeper who collects the most votes will receive the Yashin Trophy. In the rare event of a tie, the keeper who has received five votes more often comes out on top.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments