Wednesday, May 29, 2024
HomeMMARing announcer causes outrage

Ring announcer causes outrage

The referee causes outrage at a boxing match in Australia. He makes a mistake when announcing the result

In the fight between Cherneka Johnson and Nina Hughes for the WBA bantamweight title, the ring announcer caused outrage after ten rounds. Dan Hennessey awarded Hughes the victory by majority decision. The result: 95:95, 96:94, 98:92.

While the 41-year-old was already celebrating, the two boxers were called to the center of the ring and told that Johnson had won

Hughes demands rematch

“I just don’t get it,” said Hughes reproachfully: “How can they announce that I won and then change the score? I thought I dominated early. I thought she won a couple of the later rounds, but I felt I won the fight comfortably.”

Hughes spoke in jest. “I feel like I was cheated. There has to be a rematch. I didn’t lose the fight. “

Johnson, on the other hand, was visibly relieved. “I’m not the judge and I’m just glad they corrected the wrong decision,” said the 29-year-old: “I’m just over the moon that I won this fight.” Promoter Lou DiBella subsequently apologized for the mix-up and said they had “messed up.”

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments